SAG-AFTRA Logo centered. #UNCONVENT!ONAL 2019 National Convention October 10-13/Los Angeles in white on a purple, pink and gold mosaic background.

The fourth biennial SAG-AFTRA National Convention concluded on Oct. 13, with members voting on resolutions and hearing speeches from the union’s top officers. The four-day event brought together member delegates to vote on resolutions that advance the union and its mission. This year’s theme was “#Unconventional.”

Throughout convention, 400 delegates from the union’s national membership passed numerous resolutions. The election of the executive vice president and national vice presidents among the union’s seven geographic and work categories was held on Oct. 11. That same day, delegates attended a keynote conversation between Oscar-nominated producer Jason Blum (BlacKkKlansman, Get Out) and Wall Street Journal editor Ben Fritz. The following day, delegates heard from National Executive Director and witnessed the formal signing of a new cooperative agreement between SAG-AFTRA and the Mexican actors union the Asociación Nacional de Actores. Delegates also had the option of attending breakout sessions on a multitude of subjects, including organizing, litigation, social media and more.

But it wasn’t all work and no play for delegates. On Oct. 11, the convention also held a formal evening gala, “Casino Unconventionale.” Two special events, the American Scene Awards and George Heller Memorial Awards ceremonies, took place during the gala. The American Scene Awards recognizes employers in music, media and broadcasting that endeavor to showcase stories of diversity in the American landscape, and the George Heller award is given to individuals among the union’s membership and staff that exemplify its core values. Some members were also able to attend a special screening of A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood on Oct. 12.

On the last day of convention, Oct. 13, SAG-AFTRA’s top officers, gave keynote speeches and discussed a number of important topics including the union’s continued efforts to organize and create stronger contracts and safety protocols, as well as uphold digital image rights in the face of rising technology. In her closing remarks, Carteris thanked delegates for their service to members and congratulated the newly elected leadership. She also thanked the staff.

Delegates were treated to a closing video that featured highlights from the four-day convention.

The next biennial SAG-AFTRA convention is set to take place in 2021.

SAG-AFTRA executive officers at the end of convention. From left, National Vice President, Recording Artists/Singers Dan Navarro; National Vice President, Los Angeles Clyde Kusatsu; Secretary-Treasurer Camryn Manheim; President Gabrielle Carteris; Executive Vice President Rebecca Damon; National Vice President, Small Locals Suzanne Burkhead; National Vice President, New York Liz Zazzi; and National Vice President, Mid-Sized Locals Michele Proude, National Vice President, Broadcasters Bob Butler. (Photo by Amy Tierney/SAG-AFTRA)

President Gabrielle Carteris receives a standing ovation during her address to the delegates. (Photo by Amy Tierney/SAG-AFTRA)

SAG-AFTRA National Executive Director David White addresses delegates during the second day of convention. (Photo by Amy Tierney/SAG-AFTRA)

Executive Vice President Rebecca Damon discusses digital image rights and defending SAG-AFTRA’s core values during her EVP speech. (Photo by Amy Tierney/SAG-AFTRA)

Camryn Manheim during her first address as SAG-AFTRA Secretary-Treasurer. (Photo by Amy Tierney/SAG-AFTRA)

National Vice President, Actors/Performers Bill Charlton discusses a resolution on the convention floor.

From left, Executive Vice President and N.Y. Local President Rebecca Damon, President Gabrielle Carteris and Chief Operating Officer & General Counsel Duncan Crabtree-Ireland display their George Heller awards.

National Board member and chair of the SAG-AFTRA Diversity Advisory Committee Jason George with host and SAG-AFTRA member Sydelle Noell on the red carpet at Casino Unconventionale, SAG-AFTRA’s biennial evening gala.

National Board members and L.A. Local Second Vice President David Joliffe, L.A. Local President Patricia Richardson and L.A. Local First Vice President Frances Fisher during discussion of resolutions.

National Board members Adrian Martinez and Jason George enjoying the convention.


Help Center

On-Set Emergency

On-Set Emergency: (844) 723-3773

Help Center

How can we help? Call, chat with a rep, get answers to FAQs or send us an email.