Members gather for the group photo at the Miami Local Annual Membership Meeting.

Miami Local members gathered for the 2019 annual membership meeting and mixer at Dave & Buster’s in Hollywood, Florida on Nov. 18. The three-hour meeting not only gave attendees the opportunity to network with colleagues and staff, but provided an overview of SAG-AFTRA’s work on both a local and national scale throughout the year. Discussed topics included the new Commercials Contracts, organizing efforts for the Miami Regional Commercials Code and background actors, and the union’s continued legislative efforts nationally.

Miami-Dade County Film and Entertainment Commissioner Sandy Lighterman was a special guest speaker during the meeting. Lighterman spoke about new Miami-Dade County film incentives and Film Florida’s efforts for production incentives in the upcoming legislative session.

A highlight of the event was a special ceremony where Steve Gladstone, the first president of the local, received the 2019 McLaughlin-Zimet Union Spirit Award. The award, respectively named after legacy SAG and AFTRA pioneers Bruce McLaughlin and Connie Zimet, was presented by SAG-AFTRA National Board member and Local Board Member Nancy Duerr and inaugural award recipient Dave Cory.

The meeting concluded with a Q&A session, and as is tradition, the evening wrapped with a trivia game where winners were awarded SAG-AFTRA prizes.  

If you have not attended a membership meeting before, don’t miss the opportunity to meet and mix with other members, and receive the latest information about SAG-AFTRA later in 2020!

Photo: Members gather for the group photo at the Miami Local Annual Membership Meeting.

Miami Local members at the 2019 Annual Membership Meeting at Dave & Busters in Hollywood, FL.

Miami-Dade County Film & Entertainment Commissioner Sandy Lighterman gives her presentation.

McLauglin-Zimet Union Spirit Award recipient Steve Gladstone, center, flanked by award presenters Dave Corey, National Board member Nancy Duerr, and Miami Local President John McKarthy.

From left, members Sara Rogers, Michael Dean Walker, Sipiwe Anderson, Miami Local President John McKarthy, Charles Bonamy, Tasha Wenger and Mark Jackman.


Help Center

On-Set Emergency

On-Set Emergency: (844) 723-3773

Help Center

How can we help? Call, chat with a rep, get answers to FAQs or send us an email.