Hawaii 2017:04

days since last accident 182
The Official E-Newsletter of the SAG-AFTRA Hawaii Local
The Official E-Newsletter of the SAG-AFTRA Hawaii Local
April 2017


David Farmer, President
Charles Uyehara, Vice President
Jean Simon, Secretary
John Nordlum, Board Member
Lisa Romano, Board Member
Colin Fong, Board Member
Leanne Teves, Board Member
Andrea Sikkink, Board Member
Scott Rogers, National Board Member

Brenda Ching, Executive Director

Contact Your Local

We moved into a new space in the same building. Our room number is 106.

949 Kapiolani Blvd., Suite 106, Honolulu, HI 96814

Local President’s Message

David C. Farmer 

Aloha Brothers and Sisters,

Exciting news on the national front: After a 15-year effort by your union, Telenovela performers, including actors, guest stars, dancers and stunt workers at the Spanish-language TV network Telemundo overwhelmingly voted to unionize with SAG-AFTRA. This brings to a close a protracted dispute between our union and NBCUniversal, the owner of the network. The balloting process began Feb. 7 and successfully concluded four weeks later with 81 percent of eligible voters choosing to unionize.

Miami-based Telemundo, which was acquired by NBCUniversal in 2001, is the largest employer of Spanish-language performers in the United States, providing work for hundreds of actors on its programs. SAG-AFTA argued that NBCUniversal maintained a double standard by providing fair pay and benefits to its English-language performers, while denying the same rights to Spanish-language performers.

Click here to read more.