California (August 27, 2014) – The California Film & Television Production Alliance--a coalition of guilds, unions, producers, small businesses, studios, and associations that have worked together for more than a decade to promote, improve, and enhance film and television production in the State of California—today issued the following statement regarding Governor Jerry Brown, Assembly Speaker Toni Atkins, Senate President pro Tem-elect Kevin de León, Senate President Pro Tem Darrell Steinberg, Assembly Republican Leader Connie Conway and Senate Republican Leader Bob Huff’s announcement today on Assembly Bill 1839 (Gatto/Bocanegra), the California Film and Television Job Retention and Promotion Act. 

“On behalf of hundreds of thousands of middle class California workers, creative talent, small businesses, vendors,  local governments and film commissioners across the state, theatre owners, tourism, hotel and lodging associations, we are elated at the statement today by Governor Brown, Speaker Atkins, Senate President Pro Tem-elect de León, Senate President Steinberg, Assembly Leader Conway and Republican Leader Huff that California’s film and television production incentive program will be expanded, extended, and improved through the passage of AB 1839 and with funding of  $330 million a year for five years.  This is a win both for the State of California and the working men and women across this state who will no longer have only one choice— to leave their families to feed their families.  Behind the glitter that most people associate with Hollywood is the glue that holds it together—the many talented and often unheralded men and women whose names fly by in the credits.  Their voices are rarely heard but they are today: AB 1839 is for them.

We are grateful for the leadership of Governor Brown, Speaker Atkins, Senate President Pro Tem-elect de León, and Senate President Steinberg, along with Assembly Republican leader Conway and Republican Leader Huff who gave this legislation their support so it could move forward to a vote.  We also wholeheartedly thank the two authors, Assemblymembers Gatto and Bocanegra for their leadership and commitment throughout the past year, as well AB 1839’s 70 co-authors. We look forward to working with all of them on passage in the Senate and Assembly  and to the Governor’s desk for his signature.  

About the California Film and Television Production Alliance

The members of the California Film and Television Production Alliance include: Academy of Television Arts & Sciences; American Federation of Musicians Local 47; Association of Talent Agents; California Attractions and Parks Association; California Chamber of Commerce; California Lodging and Hotel Association; California Labor Federation; California Teamsters Public Affairs Council; California Travel Association; Chef Robért Catering; Directors Guild of America; FilmL.A.; FLICS – Film Liaisons in California Statewide; Independent Studio Services; International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees; International Brotherhood of Teamsters, Local 399; Laborers’ International Union of North America, Local 724; Motion Picture Association of America, Inc.; National Association of Theatre Owners of California/Nevada; Producers Guild of America; Quixote Studios; Recording Musicians Association; Recording Industry Association of America; SAG-AFTRA; and Writers Guild of America, West.

To learn more or to sign a petition urging state lawmakers to help California stay competitive, please visit

Help Center

On-Set Emergency

On-Set Emergency: (844) 723-3773

Help Center

How can we help? Call, chat with a rep, get answers to FAQs or send us an email.