The National Association of Black Journalists inducted six journalists into its Hall of Fame on Jan. 17, 2013. Each year, the NABJ pays tribute to legendary African American journalists who made exceptional contributions to journalism. The ceremony was held at The Newseum in Washington, DC. Among the inductees was Sue Simmons, who worked at WBAL-TV and WRC-TV in the 1970s before moving to New York to anchor at WNBC-TV for 32 years. While she was unable to attend the ceremony, she sent a video-taped speech in which she spoke highly of her time in both Baltimore and DC. Also of note, the founder of the NABJ and chair of the Hall of Fame board is WJLA-TV evening news anchor and Local SAG-AFTRA member Maureen Bunyan.

The other inductees were Betty Winston Bayé, a columnist from the Courier-Journal in Louisville, Kentucky, Simeon Booker, the first black reporter for the Washington Post, Alice Dunnigan, the first black woman to receive credentials to cover the White House, Cynthia Tucker, a Pulitzer-winning columnist, and Wendell Smith, a legendary sportswriter who helped desegregate baseball. Read more about each inductee here.

We congratulate all of the inductees, who have lead remarkable careers and contributed greatly to their field.


Help Center

On-Set Emergency

On-Set Emergency: (844) 723-3773

Help Center

How can we help? Call, chat with a rep, get answers to FAQs or send us an email.