days since last accident 165

Guild Announces Alan Rosenberg Elected New Guild President, Connie Stevens as New Secretary-Treasurer

Los Angeles (September 23, 2005) – Screen Actors Guild (SAG) today announced election results for the Guild’s National Board of Directors. Twenty-four of the 69 national board seats were contested in this election, representing Screen Actors Guild’s Hollywood, New York and Regional Branch Divisions. The vote tallies for each candidate are available at

The Guild also announced the results of elections for its top two elected positions, with Alan Rosenberg defeating Robert Conrad and Morgan Fairchild to become the 24th president of Screen Actors Guild and Connie Stevens defeating Lee Garlington to become secretary-treasurer. Rosenberg succeeds Melissa Gilbert, who served as Guild president since 2001, and Stevens succeeds James Cromwell, who served as secretary-treasurer since 2003. Each will serve two-year terms beginning on September 25. The newly elected national board members will also assume office on September 25 for terms of varying lengths.

The Guild’s Hollywood Division elected 11 new national board members; the New York Division elected five members; and eight national board members were elected from the union’s branches in Boston, Dallas, Houston, Nashville, Nevada, Philadelphia and Washington D.C.

· Board members elected from the Hollywood Division: (all three-year terms)
JoBeth Williams, Joseph Bologna, Piper Laurie, Lainie Kazan, William Russ, Barbara Nivens, Morgan Fairchild, Renee Aubry, Harrison Page, Millie Wright, Leigh French.
Click here for tabulated results.

· Board members elected from the New York Division: (all three-year terms)
Angela Bullock, Matt Servitto, Jack Landron, Traci Godfrey and Jay Potter.
Paul Christie was elected New York President.
Click here for tabulated results

· Board members elected from the Regional Branch Division:
Will Lyman (Boston – three-year term), Suzanne Burkhead (Dallas – three-year term), Ed Kelly (Detroit – three-year term), Henry Kana (Houston – three-year term), Cece DuBois (Nashville – three-year term), Art Lynch (Nevada – three-year term), Helen E. McNutt (Philadelphia – one-year term), Stephen F. Schmidt (Washington D.C. – three-year term).
Click here to view Philadelphia tabulated results
Click here to view Chicago tabulated results

Ballots for all eligible SAG members in Hollywood and New York were mailed on August 24 with a September 23 deadline. The ballots were tabulated throughout the day today by the independent election company, Integrity Voting Systems. A total of 12,555 ballots were tabulated in the Hollywood division (representing 23 percent of ballots mailed in the Hollywood division) and 5,499 ballots were tabulated in the New York Division (representing 24 percent of ballots mailed in the New York division). The number of ballots returned in the Regional Branch elections varied by region.

Terms for the newly elected national board members commence on September 25. The next national board meeting is scheduled for October 22-23 in Los Angeles.

About SAG
Screen Actors Guild is the nation’s largest labor union representing working actors. Established in 1933, SAG has a rich history in the American labor movement, from standing up to studios to break long-term engagement contracts in the 1940s to fighting for artists’ rights amid the digital revolution sweeping the entertainment industry in the 21st century. With 20 branches nationwide, SAG represents nearly 120,000 working actors in film, television, industrials, commercials and music videos. The Guild exists to enhance actors’ working conditions, compensation and benefits and to be a powerful, unified voice on behalf of artists’ rights. SAG is a proud affiliate of the AFL-CIO. Headquartered in Los Angeles, you can visit SAG online at