Oct. 17, 2020 - 11 AM to 1 PM ET

Where:
Online via Zoom

The SAG-AFTRA News & Broadcast department in partnership with the SAG-AFTRA Foundation will be hosting two meetings this week that are important for Broadcast members to attend. Please join us for presentations from the Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma on Trauma Awareness & Self-Care and Covering Street Protests & Civil Unrest

No RSVP required. Please add these to your calendars and we look forward to seeing you Thursday and Saturday. 

Saturday, Oct. 17
11 a.m. ET / 10 a.m. CT / 8 a.m. PT

Click here to join the Zoom meeting:  
https://sagaftra.zoom.us/j/96381121647?pwd=SVo0WXRGOGQ0TXUzZGVXL0JYSEFRZz09

Meeting ID: 963 8112 1647
Passcode: 496819

As of September 21, there have been 825 reported aggressions against journalists in the U.S. including 109 arrests, 203 physical attacks (including more than 75 by law enforcement), 99 tear gassings, 61 pepper sprayings, 194 rubber bullets, among others. This 90-minute workshop will cover risk assessment and situational awareness as well as practical strategies and tactics for preparing to cover civil disturbances. Topics will include protective gear, positioning in a crowd, how to deal with tear gas, rubber bullets and other riot and crowd control tactics.

The training will be led by Judith Matloff, a veteran reporter and the Dart Center's senior safety advisor.

This workshop is not intended to imply an endorsement of any individual or company by SAG-AFTRA. The information provided through the workshop is given for informational purposes and may not be a suitable substitute for the advice of other industry professionals. You should always use good judgment in these matters and should not act or refrain from acting based solely on information provided through the workshop.



Help Center

On-Set Emergency

On-Set Emergency: (844) 723-3773

Help Center

How can we help? Call, chat with a rep, get answers to FAQs or send us an email.