Scott Bakula to Open the Screen Actors Guild Awards® Red Carpet with a Champagne Taittinger Toast

Scott Bakula to Open the Screen Actors Guild Awards® Red Carpet with a Champagne Taittinger Toast
Filed in: SAG Awards

SAG Awards® to be Simulcast Sunday, Jan. 30 on TNT and TBS at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT

LOS ANGELES (Jan. 24, 2011) – Scott Bakula, star of TNT’s hit drama “Men of a Certain Age,” will open the red carpet at the Los Angeles Shrine Exposition Center for the 17th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards® on Sunday, Jan. 30 with a Champagne Taittinger toast, executive producer and director Jeff Margolis announced today.

Bakula joins a growing roster of actors who will honor their colleagues at the 17th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards that already includes Alec Baldwin, Jeff Bridges, Rosario Dawson, Josh Duhamel, Angie Harmon, Eva Longoria, Cory Monteith, Amy Poehler, Hilary Swank, Betty White and SAG President Ken Howard.

The SAG Awards® ceremony will be simulcast live nationally on TNT and TBS on Sunday, Jan. 30, at 8 p.m. (ET), 7 p.m. (CT), 6 p.m. (MT) and 5 p.m. (PT) from the Los Angeles Shrine Exposition Center. An encore presentation will air immediately following on TNT at 10 p.m. (ET), 9 p.m. (CT), 8 p.m. (MT) and 7 p.m. (PT)

Scott Bakula stars as easy-going actor Terry, best friend to Ray Romano’s Joe and Andre Braugher’s Owen on TNT’s, “Men of A Certain Age,” which just had its midseason finale. Best known for his role as time traveler Sam Beckett on the innovative series “Quantum Leap,” Bakula was honored with a Golden Globe and four Emmy nominations for that role. Bakula’s broad range of feature films include last year’s “The Informant,” 1999’s Oscar-winning Best Picture “American Beauty;” Irwin Winkler’s “Life as a House;” the football comedy “Necessary Roughness;” and his film debut, Carl Reiner’s “Sibling Rivalry.”  Bakula has been a member of SAG Awards Committee since 2009. He was elected to Screen Actors Guild’s Board of Directors in 2008 and serves as an alternate to SAG’s National Executive Committee. 

Champagne Taittinger is celebrating its eleventh year toasting film and television at the Screen Actors Guild Awards. Champagne Taittinger’s Brut La Française will be served to attending entertainment industry luminaries. Champagne Taittinger is one of the last family-owned champagne houses.

The 17th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards will be produced by Jeff Margolis Productions in association with Screen Actors Guild Awards®, LLC. For more information about the SAG Awards, SAG, TNT and TBS visit sagawards.org/about.

Contact: Tosha Whitten Griggs
twgriggs@sagawards.og
(310) 235-1030