Press Releases

days since last accident 165
Press Releases
Tue, 03/29/2016 - 14:18

Los Angeles (March 29, 2016) — SAG-AFTRA mourns the passing of former Screen Actors Guild President Anna Patty Duke Pearce, better known as Patty Duke. Duke was elected president in 1985, becoming the second female president of the union. Duke was an Oscar and Emmy-winning actor, labor activist, and pioneering advocate for mental health issues. She was 69.

Thu, 03/24/2016 - 10:40
In case of any follow-up stories, please see the hyperlinked photo of SAG-AFTRA President Ken Howard with his beloved dog, Harley in 2014.

Ken Howard was a life-long philanthropist and animal rights activist. In lieu of flowers, remembrance contributions may be made to the SAG-AFTRA Foundation and the Onyx and Breezy Foundation for the Welfare of Animals.

Wed, 03/23/2016 - 13:54

(LOS ANGELES) MAR. 23 -- Kenneth Joseph “Ken” Howard, Jr., a Tony and Emmy Award-winning actor and president of the performers union SAG-AFTRA died today at his home near Los Angeles. He was 71.

Over a long career rich with great performances, the Yale-trained Howard parlayed his classic blond, blue-eyed handsomeness into a string of enduring characters on stage and screen, later becoming the first president of the 160,000-member performers union SAG-AFTRA.

Wed, 03/09/2016 - 09:21

Iggy Pop Music Showcase, SAGindie Reception and More Highlight Conference Week

LOS ANGELES (March 9, 2016) --- SAG-AFTRA, SAGindie and the SAG-AFTRA Foundation are returning to Austin with an exciting schedule of 2016 South by Southwest (SXSW) events for the interactive, film and music conference.

Highlights include a conversation with Gaby Hoffmann a filmmaker party and the much-anticipated Iggy Pop Showcase.

Mon, 02/22/2016 - 08:01

Los Angeles (Feb. 22, 2016) --- SAG-AFTRA has named performers Morgan Fairchild and Anne-Marie Johnson as the recipients of the 2016 Ralph Morgan Award, the SAG-AFTRA Los Angeles Local’s highest honor. The award will be presented on Sunday, March 6, at the annual Los Angeles Local membership meeting at the Sportsmen’s Lodge in Studio City.

Wed, 02/17/2016 - 12:20

NEW YORK (February 17, 2016) – Representatives of the Joint Policy Committee and SAG-AFTRA today commenced negotiations on successor agreements to the commercials contracts.

Both groups look forward to productive bargaining under a jointly agreed upon media blackout already in effect.

Wed, 02/10/2016 - 20:20

Los Angeles (Feb. 10, 2016) — Today, President Obama sent the WIPO Beijing Treaty on Audiovisual Performances to the U.S. Senate for approval. The treaty is the result of a long-running multinational effort to grant full, worldwide recognition of audiovisual performers' rights.

Wed, 02/10/2016 - 09:28

Los Angeles (Feb. 10, 2016) — The SAG-AFTRA President’s Task Force on Education, Outreach and Engagement and SAG-AFTRA Diversity Advisory Committee in a joint meeting on Feb. 3 unanimously approved the following statement:

Tue, 02/09/2016 - 05:05

Versión en español abajo

SAG-AFTRA Urges Telemundo to Help End Talent Double Standard
As Network Breaks Ground on New Facility in South Florida

Miami (Feb. 9, 2016) — As NBCUniversal breaks ground on its new $400 million facility to house all of Telemundo’s productions and operations, SAG-AFTRA is calling attention to the double standard that exists between Spanish-language and English-language talent hired for those productions under the same parent corporation.

Sat, 01/30/2016 - 19:06

LOS ANGELES (Jan. 30, 2016) — The stunt performers and coordinators from “Mad Max: Fury Road” and “Game of Thrones” are this year’s Screen Actors Guild Awards® honorees for Outstanding Action Performances by Film and Television Stunt Ensembles, it was announced today from the 22nd Annual SAG Awards® red carpet by SAG Awards Committee Chair JoBeth Williams and SAG Awards Committee Vice Chair Daryl Anderson.

Thu, 01/28/2016 - 10:16

Honorees Will Be Announced Saturday, Jan. 30 at the 22nd Annual SAG Awards® During a Live Simulcast on TNT and TBS at 8 p.m. (ET) / 5 p.m. (PT)

LOS ANGELES (Jan. 28, 2016) — Balloting for this year’s Actor® recipients will close at noon tomorrow, Friday, Jan. 29 (PT). The results will be tallied by Integrity Voting Systems, the SAG Awards’ official teller, and sealed until the envelopes are opened onstage by the presenters at the 22nd Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards® ceremony on Saturday, Jan. 30.

Wed, 01/27/2016 - 10:59

LOS ANGELES (Jan. 27, 2016) – Six-time Actor® nominee Tony Hale ("Veep,” "Arrested Development.") will join Vitalie Taittinger, Champagne Taittinger Artistic Director, to open the red carpet for the 22nd Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards® on Saturday, Jan. 30, Executive Producer Kathy Connell announced today. The annual Champagne Taittinger toast marks the opening of the Red Carpet and will be Champagne Taittinger’s 16th year celebrating achievements in film and television at the Screen Actors Guild Awards.

Tue, 01/26/2016 - 19:06

Priyanka Chopra, Brie Larson, Eva Longoria, Julianne Moore, Eddie Redmayne, Sarah Silverman and Jacob Tremblay to Present at the 22nd Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards®

LOS ANGELES (Jan. 26, 2016) — Priyanka Chopra, Brie Larson, Eva Longoria, Julianne Moore, Eddie Redmayne, Sarah Silverman and Jacob Tremblay will be presenters at the 22nd Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards®, Executive Producer Kathy Connell announced today.