Press Releases

Press Releases
Sat, 04/30/2011 - 18:19

Guild Task Force to work directly with AFTRA counterparts to develop formal merger plan for approval by National Boards in January 2012.

Los Angeles, (April 30, 2011) – The Screen Actors Guild National Board of Directors today unanimously approved the creation of a Merger Task Force to work with their AFTRA counterparts in developing a formal plan to unite SAG and AFTRA members in one union.

Thu, 04/21/2011 - 12:36

LOS ANGELES (April 21, 2011) – Screen Actors Guild today announced that Deborah Skelly has joined the Guild as executive director of industry relations and organizing. Skelly comes to SAG most recently from Fusion Film Group LLC, where she served as vice president of business and legal affairs. As a published author, former feature film agent and comedy talent representative, Skelly understands first-hand the creative talent landscape and is an accomplished and aggressive advocate for actors.

Thu, 04/14/2011 - 10:16

LOS ANGELES (April 14, 2011) – The American Federation of Television and Radio Artists, AFL-CIO – a national union of more than 70,000 performers, recording artists and broadcast professionals – today released the statement below following the announcement by ABC that it has cancelled two long-running AFTRA programs, “All My Children” and “One Life to Live,” which are based in Los Angeles and New York, respectively:

Tue, 04/05/2011 - 13:32


Screen Actors Guild New Media Department

The Premiere of Duo Luna Productions’ ElfQuest: A Fan Imagining


Event: 7 p.m., Wednesday, April 6 – Screen Actors Guild National Headquarters

Mon, 04/04/2011 - 10:39

Los Angeles (April 4, 2011) – American Federation of Television and Radio Artists (AFTRA), Directors Guild of America (DGA), International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees, Moving Picture Technicians, Artists and Allied Crafts of the United States, Its Territories and Canada (IATSE), and Screen Actors Guild (SAG) today released the following statement:

Mon, 04/04/2011 - 10:15

Deregulation of talent agents leaves vulnerable the most susceptible in society: children and young adults

MIAMI (April 4, 2011) – The American Federation of Television and Radio Artists, AFL-CIO, today released the letter below, also attached, that was sent on March 30 to Denise Grimsley (R), Chair, Florida House Appropriations Committee on March 30, 2011.

Thu, 03/31/2011 - 18:05

LOS ANGELES (April 1, 2011) — Screen Actors Guild New Media Department presents the premiere of ElfQuest: A Fan Imagining, Wednesday, April 6 at SAG National Headquarters in Los Angeles. ElfQuest: A Fan Imagining was created by new media producers/actors Stephanie Thorpe (GOLD: Night of the Zombie King) and Paula Rhodes (A Good Knight’s Quest).

Thu, 03/31/2011 - 09:29

LOS ANGELES (March 31, 2011) – Screen Actors Guild and the American Federation of Television and Radio Artists today announced that the Joint AFTRA and SAG Non-Broadcast/Industrials Negotiating Committee have reached a tentative agreement with industry representatives on terms for three-year successor agreements to the SAG Industrial and Educational Contract and the AFTRA National Code of Fair Practice for Non Broadcast/Industrial/Educational Recorded Material.

Wed, 03/23/2011 - 14:44

Screen Actors Guild's National Women’s Committee and the SAG Foundation
“Conversations with Phylicia Rashad - A Woman of Distinction: Her Story”
Event: 6 p.m., Monday, March 28 - SAG Foundation Actors Center

Thu, 03/10/2011 - 17:26

Los Angeles (March 10, 2011) - Screen Actors Guild member Tony Shalhoub (Monk, How Do You Know) will travel to Madison, Wisconsin to rally with other union members at the state capitol in support of Wisconsin workers on Saturday afternoon, March 12.

Shalhoub, a native of Green Bay, Wisconsin, is a Screen Actors Guild Award- and Emmy Award-winner.

Tue, 03/01/2011 - 09:48

NEW YORK AND LOS ANGELES (March 1, 2011) - Following a thorough renovation made possible by contributions from the Actors’ Equity Foundation, AFTRA Foundation and Screen Actors Guild Foundation, New York’s VITA (Volunteer Income Tax Assistance) office re-opened on Friday, Feb. 4.

Wed, 02/23/2011 - 14:57

Los Angeles (February 23, 2011) — In commemoration of Black History Month, Screen Actors Guild National Ethnic Employment Opportunities Committee and SAG Affirmative Action & Diversity will present events today in Los Angeles and New York celebrating the history and accomplishments of African Americans in film and television.

Wed, 02/23/2011 - 09:34

DETROIT (Feb. 23, 2011) – The Detroit Local of the American Federation of Television and Radio Artists, AFL-CIO (AFTRA), today released the following statement from Detroit Local President Jayne Bower, supporting embattled local American Federation of Musicians members who have been on strike for more than 20 weeks in an effort to secure a successor agreement with the Detroit Symphony Orchestra:

Sun, 02/20/2011 - 09:35

LOS ANGELES (Feb. 20, 2011) - The American Federation of Television and Radio Artists today released the following statement from National President Roberta Reardon supporting the efforts of public sector union members in Wisconsin, Ohio and other parts of the nation who are struggling to protect their basic right to collective bargaining:

Wed, 02/16/2011 - 14:41

LOS ANGELES (Feb. 16, 2011) – The American Federation of Television and Radio Artists (AFTRA) — a national union of more than 70,000 professional performers, recording artists and broadcasters working in the entertainment and news media — today announced the recipients of the AFTRA Foundation’s 2011 AFTRA Media and Entertainment Excellence Awards (The AMEES).

Receiving honors will be Spanish-language Dodgers broadcaster Jaime Jarrin, “America’s Most Wanted” host John Walsh and recording artist David Crosby.

Wed, 02/09/2011 - 11:30

Los Angeles (February 9, 2011) - Screen Actors Guild announced today that actors Dan Fitzgerald of the Florida Branch and Will Lyman of the Boston Branch will be the co-recipients of the 3rd Annual Howard Keel Award for their significant contributions to the Guild. The Howard Keel Award is the highest honor given by the Screen Actors Guild Regional Branch Division, and will be presented in May at the Regional Branch Division's annual Regional Branch Conference in Orlando, Florida.

Thu, 01/27/2011 - 14:47

The Screen Actors Guild Awards® to be Simulcast Sunday, Jan. 30 on TNT and TBS at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT

LOS ANGELES (January 27, 2011) Jason Bateman, Jon Hamm, Nicole Kidman, Jeremy Renner, Sofia Vergara and Robin Wright will be presenters at the 17th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards®, Executive Producer Jeff Margolis announced today. 

Wed, 01/26/2011 - 11:30

Tim Conway to Introduce Tribute to SAG’s 47th Life Achievement Award Recipient Ernest Borgnine at the 17th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards®
SAG Awards® to be Simulcast Sunday, Jan. 30 on TNT and TBS at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT