Tue, 02/23/2010 - 16:46

Woody Schultz has been named national chair of Screen Actors Guild’s new National Performance Capture Committee.

Schultz has extensive experience in performance capture, with the films Avatar, Beowulf and The Polar Express among his credits. He and the rest of the experienced committee, which is still being constituted, will work to raise awareness about this increasingly important acting work.

Tue, 02/23/2010 - 16:02

Historically, the more popular industry terms have been “motion capture” or “mo-cap.” So why does SAG call the work “performance capture”?


These days, technology is able to record every little nuance of an actor’s performance. Regardless, the debate continues over how deserving the work is when it comes to accolades – as evidenced by this recent Los Angeles Times article, “Avatar’s animated acting.”


Austin Actors Conservatory presents a Script to Screen LIVE read of “Graverobbers” by Brian McDonald.

Graverobbers is the story of a man who recalls a tragic past-life, and becomes so obsessed with it that he nearly ruins his life in the present.

When: 4 - 6 p.m., Sunday, March 28

Where: The Hideout Theatre
617 Congress Avenue
Austin, TX  78701

Free to the public

The Screen Actors Guild and the University of Hawaii Academy of Creative Media have joined together to provide another great way for SAG members to hone their craft through Table Readings. The readings afford members the opportunity to read new scripts and act in roles in a “cold reading” situation. For screenwriters, it is a chance to hear their work read by professional actors. Additionally, should these scenes at some point go before the camera, actors have another opportunity to do what they love – perform well written material on-camera. 

Sat, 01/23/2010 - 19:20

LOS ANGELES (Jan. 23, 2010) - Screen Actors Guild presented its coveted Actor® statuette for the outstanding motion picture and primetime television performances of 2009 at the “16th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards®” in ceremonies attended by film and television’s leading actors, held Saturday, Jan. 23, at the Los Angeles Shrine Exposition Center. The “16th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards®” was simulcast by TNT and TBS at 8 p.m., ET/PT, 7 p.m. CT and 6 p.m. MT.

Sat, 01/23/2010 - 19:01

LOS ANGELES (Jan. 23, 2010) - The stunt performers and coordinators from “Star Trek” and “24” are recipients of this year’s Screen Actors Guild’s honors for Film and Television Stunt Ensembles, it was announced today from the 16th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards® red carpet by Screen Actors Guild Awards Committee Chair JoBeth Williams and Awards Committee member Scott Bakula. The announcement was made on the live SAG Awards® red carpet pre-show webcast on tnt.tv and tbs.com which streams from 3:15 to 4:30 p.m. PT.