The Screen Actors Guild and the University of Hawaii Academy of Creative Media have joined together to provide another great way for SAG members to hone their craft through Table Readings. The readings afford members the opportunity to read new scripts and act in roles in a “cold reading” situation. For screenwriters, it is a chance to hear their work read by professional actors. Additionally, should these scenes at some point go before the camera, actors have another opportunity to do what they love – perform well written material on-camera. 

Sat, 01/23/2010 - 19:20

LOS ANGELES (Jan. 23, 2010) - Screen Actors Guild presented its coveted Actor® statuette for the outstanding motion picture and primetime television performances of 2009 at the “16th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards®” in ceremonies attended by film and television’s leading actors, held Saturday, Jan. 23, at the Los Angeles Shrine Exposition Center. The “16th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards®” was simulcast by TNT and TBS at 8 p.m., ET/PT, 7 p.m. CT and 6 p.m. MT.

Sat, 01/23/2010 - 19:01

LOS ANGELES (Jan. 23, 2010) - The stunt performers and coordinators from “Star Trek” and “24” are recipients of this year’s Screen Actors Guild’s honors for Film and Television Stunt Ensembles, it was announced today from the 16th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards® red carpet by Screen Actors Guild Awards Committee Chair JoBeth Williams and Awards Committee member Scott Bakula. The announcement was made on the live SAG Awards® red carpet pre-show webcast on and which streams from 3:15 to 4:30 p.m. PT.

Fri, 01/22/2010 - 16:18

Los Angeles (January 13, 2010) — Screen Actors Guild joins the world community in extending its deepest sympathies to the Haitian people.

“Our thoughts are with the people of Haiti in the aftermath of the earthquake that struck their island on Tuesday," said Screen Actors Guild President Ken Howard. “This tragedy reminds us, no matter where we call home, that the human struggle is a shared one.”

Fri, 01/08/2010 - 16:46

Los Angeles (January 8, 2010) - Members of Screen Actors Guild, AFTRA and the IATSE turned out along with L.A. Firefighters, Steelworkers, Ironworkers and hundreds of other union workers to support UNITE HERE! and hotel workers at a rally with AFL-CIO President Richard Trumka on his first official visit to Los Angeles.

We are pleased to announce that Kelly Nesbitt, Broadcast Director at the Docherty Model and Talent Agency in Pittsburgh, PA will be our special guest at our upcoming SAG/AFTRA membership meeting.

Kelly has been working as a licensed talent agent for the past 7 years booking models and actors ages 3 and up in TV commercials, radio commercials, TV shows and films on a local, regional, and national level. Recent film credits include “Adventureland”, “My Bloody Valentine”, “Smart People”, and “Zack and Miri” to name a few. 

When: Thursday, May 21, 2009
5:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. (Doors open at 5 p.m. No admittance after 6 p.m.)

SAG Boardroom, 360 Madison Avenue (Entrance on East 45th Street)

"How to Get and Keep An Agent" with LISA GOLD, author of the DVD, The Business of Show, Being Your Own CEO

•    What are agents looking for, really?
•    What’s your type and how to market yourself to the right agencies
•    Making a Great First Impression
•    The perfect cover letters, headshots and resumes