days since last accident 181

Hollywood, CA (October 25, 2007)—Screen Actors Guild today was honored with an Award of Excellence star on Hollywood Boulevard—making it the first union ever to receive this honor. The ceremony, which took place in front of the historic Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel, served as the official kick-off event for the Guild’s year-long 75th anniversary celebration. The star is located at 7018 Hollywood Boulevard.

Click here to see video of the ceremony

The award was accepted and unveiled by Screen Actors Guild President Alan Rosenberg, Secretary-Treasurer Connie Stevens, and past presidents Edward Asner, Melissa Gilbert, Barry Gordon, Kathleen Nolan and William Schallert.

"This star reflects millions of hours of training, tireless auditions, countless rehearsals and remarkable performances—the collective body of work of some legends and many more middle-class actors—75 years strong,” said Rosenberg at the ceremony. “For us, it’s all about acting. It always has been and always will be.”

“We know Screen Actors Guild members and their heirs will be filled with pride whenever they walk this stretch of sidewalk for many decades to come. Thank you to the Hollywood Historic Trust for this remarkable tribute,” Rosenberg concluded.

Bestowed by the Hollywood Historic Trust and presented by Hollywood’s Honorary Mayor Johnny Grant, the Award recognizes Screen Actors Guild’s extraordinary history in the entertainment industry and pays tribute to the Guild’s 75th anniversary in 2008.

“The Hollywood Historic Trust is happy to present this honor to the Screen Actors Guild, which has taken the name of a community and made it synonymous with a world-famous industry, while at the same time creating an environment in which their members can prosper and practice their craft,” stated Grant, who is also Hollywood Historic Trust Chairman.

The star ceremony was preceded by a celebratory breakfast hosted by the Screen Actors Guild Foundation and Ford Motor Company, held at the Annex at the Hollywood & Highland Center.

Among the Screen Actors Guild members in attendance were Jack Coleman, Blythe Danner, Michael Dorn, Ben Foster, Marg Helgenberger, Marsha Hunt, Anne Jeffreys, Amber Tamblyn, Russ Tamblyn and Chandra Wilson.

Screen Actors Guild board members Joe Bologna, Brett Cullen, Frances Fisher, Sam Freed, Robert Hays, Anne-Marie Johnson, William Katt, Lainie Kazan, Diane Ladd, David Hartley Margolin, Kent McCord, Esai Morales, Barbara Niven, France Nuyen, Mike Pniewski, Renee Taylor and JoBeth Williams also attended the event. SAG Foundation President Mitchell Ryan and SAG Foundation Board member Diahann Carroll, as well as SAG leaders and board members from around the country were also there.

Los Angeles Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa congratulated the Guild at the celebratory breakfast held prior to the star ceremony. Los Angeles City Council President Eric Garcetti and Los Angeles City Councilmembers Wendy Greuel and Tom LaBonge, and AFL-CIO President John Sweeney were also in attendance.

NOTE TO MEDIA: If you would like to obtain video footage or additional event photos, please call (323) 549-6872 or (323) 549-6841.

Star Photo 1:
Top: Past Presidents Kathleen Nolan, William Schallert, Ed Asner, Barry Gordon and Melissa Gilbert joined Alan Rosenberg and Johnny Grant for the unveiling ceremony.

Star Photo 2:
Bottom: Pictured L-R are SAG members Frances Fisher, Kate Linder, Ed Asner, Lainie Kazan, Diahann Carroll, Connie Stevens, William Schallert, Eric Garcetti, Johnny Grant, Kathleen Nolan, Alan Rosenberg, Kent McCord, Renee Taylor, Ben Foster, Jack Coleman, Chandra Wilson, Barbara Niven, Joe Bologna, Diane Ladd and France Nuyen