New York 2016:08

days since last accident 182
The Official E-Newsletter of the SAG-AFTRA New York Local
The Official E-Newsletter of the SAG-AFTRA New York Local
August 2016


Mike Hodge – President
Maureen Donnelly – First Vice President
Holter Graham – Second Vice President
Jim Kerr – Third Vice President
Rebecca Damon – Fourth Vice President 

Polly Adams
Marc Baron
Nitasha Bhambree
Anne Gartlan
Janette Gautier
Charles Gemmill
Traci Godfrey
Phoebe Jonas
Sandra Karas
Gerald M. Kline
Elaine LeGaro
Adrian Martinez
Samantha Mathis
Joseph Melendez
Sue-Anne Morrow
Jack Mulcahy
Christine Nagy
Janice Pendarvis
Linda Powell
John Rothman
Kevin Scullin
leslie Shreve 
Alex Silverman
Debra Sperling
Jeff Spurgeon
Jamal Story
Monica Trombetta
Rick Zahn
Liz Zazzi


The SAG-AFTRA Foundation’s BookPALS is seeking N.Y. members to volunteer to read to classrooms of children. Click here for details.


Office Location:
1900 Broadway, 5th Floor
New York, NY 10023
(Between 63rd and 64th streets)
(212) 944-1030

Spring Membership Meeting Recap

Steve Sobotta and Mike Hodge

The SAG-AFTRA New York Local held its spring membership meeting on May 16 at the DGA Theater. The meeting began with a moment of silence and a video tribute to the union’s late President Ken Howard. New York Local President Mike Hodge spoke about his affection and respect for Howard, and also noted the deaths of former SAG Presidents Anna Patty Duke Pearce and William Schallert, and legacy AFTRA National Vice President J.R. Horne. Hodge related a personal story of how kind Duke had been to him on one of his early acting jobs.

Chief Deputy General Counsel Jeffrey Bennett, appearing at his first membership meeting since taking on his expanded role as New York Local Executive Director, spoke about his excitement for the new job and his commitment to working for the membership in all areas of their work.

Members were advised to get involved with the N.Y. Film Society and the Open Door program, two local resources that provide basic entertainment and career-enhancing benefits. Barbara Davis, chief operating officer of The Actors Fund, and Steve Sobotta, marketing director of the Actors Federal Credit Union, gave presentations on their respective organizations. Sobotta accepted a framed resolution from SAG-AFTRA honoring the credit union for its years of service in providing financial assistance to performers.

Additional presentations reminded members of two invaluable organizations providing assistance and programming to members: the SAG-AFTRA Motion Picture Players Welfare Fund and the SAG-AFTRA Foundation. The new Foundation Theater is expected to open later this year on 54th Street, thanks in part to funding from the MPPWF.

Newly elected Executive Vice President Rebecca Damon gave a detailed report on the President’s Task Force for Education, Outreach and Engagement, highlighting several exciting initiatives, including the new contact center and upcoming apps, which will allow members to access residuals information and keep up with union news from their mobile devices.