SAG-AFTRA Seattle Broadcasters Sweep Regional Murrow Awards

days since last accident 182
SAG-AFTRA Seattle Broadcasters Sweep Regional Murrow Awards

Broadcasters from three SAG-AFTRA Seattle Local news shops recorded big wins in the 2014 Region 1 Edward R. Murrow Awards, announced this week.

Teams from KOMO and KING split 11 of the 13 awards in the Large Market Television category, including: Overall Excellence, Best Newscast, and Feature, Hard News and Sports Reporting (KOMO), Breaking News, Continuing Coverage, Investigative Reporting, News Series, Writing, and Use of Sound/Video (KING), while KPLU-FM received the award for Feature Reporting, Large Market Radio.

The awards, presented annually by the Radio Television Digital News Association, recognize “outstanding achievements in electronic journalism” and qualify regional recipients for the National Edward R. Murrow Awards competition, with the winners to be announced this June.

The Awards, named in honor of pioneering radio and television news broadcaster (and Washington State University graduate) Edward R. Murrow have been presented by the RTDNA since 1971, in recognition of “Murrow’s pursuit of excellence in journalism…Murrow Award recipients demonstrate the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the electronic news profession” according to the Association’s web site. The SAG-AFTRA Seattle Local congratulates all the regional winners and wishes them “good luck” in the next round!

A full list of regional Murrow Awards recipients can be viewed at the Association’s web site: