Submissions for Women in the Arts & Media Coalition, Inc. 2013 Collaboration Award: Women Working With Women Due April 30

days since last accident 182
Submissions for Women in the Arts & Media Coalition, Inc. 2013 Collaboration Award: Women Working With Women Due April 30
Start: 05/01/2013 - 6:58am
End: 05/01/2013 - 6:59am

Sent to you on behalf of the SAG-AFTRA New York Local Women’s Committee

Women in the Arts & Media Coalition (WAM), Inc. will present the 2013 Collaboration Award recognizing women working with women. The $1,000 award is designed to encourage professional women in the arts and media from different specializations to work collaboratively on the creation of a new artistic work. The aim of the award is to encourage women to work collaboratively with women of other disciplines. Each collaborative team must be comprised of female members of different arts & media associations, unions, guilds and affiliates of WAM Coalition. Eligible teams may suggest any form of creative collaboration on a new work that has had a public performance within the last two years, 2011-2013. A public performance can include, but is not limited to a staged reading, gallery show, concert series, etc.

Submissions will be judged on the basis of artistic excellence, diversity, and clarity. All topics and subjects will be considered. Special attention shall be given to those projects which reflect the goals of the coalition: to advance women’s work and women’s issues. The team that has been selected and the honorable mentions will be invited to be recognized at an awards ceremony in New York in October 2013. Women outside of New York may send a designee to speak about their project and accept the award.

Teams of two or more women working together on the creative project may apply for the 2013 Collaboration Award on the WAM Coalition website at Applicants must be members in good standing of an organization and/or affiliate with WAM Coalition. Those organizations are Actors' Equity Association, Dramatists Guild, League of Professional Theatre Women, New York Women in Film & Television, SAG-AFTRA, Stage Directors and Choreographers Society, and Writers' Guild of America, East. Affiliates include WomenArts, The Rehearsal Club, The Women’s Media Center, Women Make Movies, Dancers Over 40, Professional Women Singers Association.

Deadline: The postmark deadline for the return of completed applications is midnight 11:59 p.m., Tuesday, April 30, 2013. Award recipients will be announced by August 2013.

Please direct your questions to

2011 Winners
Stefanie Zadravec (playwright - Dramatists Guild) and Daniella Topol (director - stage directors and choreographers) for their collaboration on The Electric Baby.

2008 Winners
Jennifer Gibbs, author of the play, The Stranger, and director, Kristin Marting. Gibbs based her play on Henrik Ibsen's The Lady From the Sea. Marting and Gibbs plan a multi-media production including film and music.

2006 Winners
Playwright Jennifer Maisel and director Wendy McClellan for the play, Birds.

Funding for the 2013 Collaboration Award has been provided in part by Sherry Eaker, Yvonne Curry, and Elsa Rael.