Hot News

Hot News
Hot News

Inaugural SAG-AFTRA Convention Elects Officers, Hosts AFL-CIO President Trumka

Inaugural SAG-AFTRA Convention Elects Officers, Hosts AFL-CIO President Trumka

Los Angeles (Sept. 26, 2013) — AFL-CIO President Richard Trumka kicked off the first day of SAG-AFTRA’s national convention today, setting the stage for the entertainment and media union’s most important governance event since merger.

SAG-AFTRA Announces Gabrielle Carteris Elected Executive Vice President at National Convention

Los Angeles (Sept. 26, 2013)—SAG-AFTRA today announced that Gabrielle Carteris has been elected as executive vice president of the union. Carteris was elected to the two-year term at the inaugural SAG-AFTRA Convention in Los Angeles. Her term begins immediately.

A total of 303 ballots were cast in the election that consisted of three candidates. Carteris received 66.5 percent of the vote, Mike Hodge received 23.22 percent, Jane Austin received 10.28 percent. Millie Wright was also a candidate. 

SAG-AFTRA Announces Program of Panels, Workshops and a Plenary Session at Inaugural National Convention

Filed in: Event, Press & Media

Los Angeles (Sept. 24, 2013) – SAG-AFTRA will present a wide array of 20 professional development programs, as well as a special keynote panel, at its inaugural national convention taking place Sept. 26-29 at the JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE.

SAG-AFTRA Announces American Scene Award Recipients

LOS ANGELES (Sept. 24, 2013) --- SAG-AFTRA today announced its recipients for the first SAG-AFTRA American Scene Awards. The awards are scheduled to take place on Friday, Sept. 27 as part of the Celebration event honoring SAG-AFTRA’s inaugural convention. The Inaugural National Convention Celebration is a dinner event with host Mary Hart (Entertainment Tonight). The evening includes entertainment and a special musical performance led by Dorian Holley (The Tonight Show with Jay Leno).

SAG-AFTRA to Hold Inaugural National Convention

Los Angeles (Sept. 19, 2013) – Union leaders, delegates and special guests will converge on Southern California for the inaugural SAG-AFTRA national convention, taking place Sept. 26-29 at the JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE.  

With the theme of United for Our Future, the convention brings together hundreds of member delegates, including national officers, national board members, local presidents and members from around the country to discuss and decide on items vital to the future of the union.

SAG-AFTRA Members: Get Involved!

National Committees

There are a variety of ways in which a member can serve the union and national committee service is a great way to lend your talents, experience and knowledge of the industry to benefit the union and its members. Service on local committees is also an option and information for serving on a local committee in your area will be made available in October.

Ken Howard and Amy Aquino Elected National President and National Secretary-Treasurer of SAG-AFTRA

Filed in: Governance

Los Angeles (August 15, 2013) — SAG-AFTRA today announced the results of elections for its top two elected positions. Members have re-elected Ken Howard and Amy Aquino to lead the union. Howard will serve as the first elected national president of SAG-AFTRA and Aquino as its first elected secretary-treasurer. Both previously served the Screen Actors Guild for two consecutive terms prior to merger, and each served respectively as co-president and co-secretary-treasurer of SAG-AFTRA following the merger in 2012. Their two-year terms begin today.

Official Call for Nominees for the Inaugural SAG-AFTRA George Heller Memorial Gold Card

George Heller Memorial Gold Card

The official call for nominees is now open for the SAG-AFTRA George Heller Memorial Gold Card. All SAG-AFTRA members have the unique opportunity to recommend nominees for this prestigious honor.